51% voting in phase five of DDC polls: SEC Sharma

Jammu and Kashmir’s State Election Commissioner (SEC) K.K Sharma said that over 51 per cent of people voted across 37 seats in the fifth phase of District Development Council (DDC) elections that passed off peacefully across the Indian union territory.
SEC Sharma was speaking to the media when he said that polling was peaceful and people participated enthusiastically despite severe cold conditions in Kashmir division and some hilly areas of Jammu division.
“Polling has been peaceful in the poll going 37 constituencies of DDC including 17 in Kashmir division and 20 in Jammu division that witnessed 51.20 per cent of polling”, he added.
He also informed that polling was held in 2104 polling stations including 1190 from Kashmir division and 914 from Jammu division.
He further informed that Jammu division recorded an average voter turnout of 66.67 percent with Poonch District recording the highest percentage of 71.62 per cent followed by Doda district with 70.95 per cent and 70.83 per cent voting recorded in Rajouri district.
The lowest turnout was in Jammu district which recorded 60.24 per cent. Besides, Kashmir division recorded 33.57 per cent average voter turnout and Bandipora district recorded the highest polling at 56.40 per cent. Kupwara district’s highest voter turnout was recorded at 52.35 per cent and Budgam with around 45.65 per cent polling.
Giving district wise details, SEC Sharma informed that in Kashmir division, the polling percentage recorded in Ganderbal was 37.47 per cent, Baramulla 44.31 per cent, Anantnag 21.89 per cent, Kulgam 26.94 per cent, Pulwama 8.12 per cent and 5.52 per cent polling was registered in Shopian.
Similarly, in Jammu division, poll percentage of 64.71 per cent was recorded in Samba, 69.47 per cent in Udhampur, 68.27 per cent in Kishtwar, 67.11 per cent in Ramban, 69.15 per cent in Reasi and 62.36 per cent in Kathua.
Further, he said that counting of votes for Sarpanch and Panch constituencies which went to poll in the fifth phase is being conducted immediately after the close of poll and results shall be declared.

Comment here